Crossing Sabayon off my list…

Sabayon has popped up on my radar several times in the last month so I decided to give it a try.  Didn’t go well.

Installed it as a VM under virtualbox, same as all the other OSes I test.  Same-same, nothing different.

Here are the ways it failed:

  1. largest .iso I’ve DLed so far.  Way over 1.0GB.
  2. slowest live image I’ve ever run
  3. slowest install I’ve done since doing 30+ floppy installs of Debian back in the day.
  4. slowest boot after install

About the only thing I liked was the options given during the partitioning section of install.  Thoughtful and useful.

 

I haven’t deleted the VM yet, but I probably will.

Leave a Reply

