ham ticket

I’ve been quiet the last few weeks because I’ve been doing a lot of reading on amateur radio-related topics.

I had a Tech ticket back in 1993 but let it lapse.  I took the exam again on the 1st and my new call showed up in the FCC database on the 12th.

I’ve always been more of a monitoring guy than talking guy but this time I’m going to make an effort to stay engaged, mainly as a preparedness thing.  One of the lessons to be learned from the prepping community is “practice with your preps before you need them.”

This time around I’m more interested in digital modes like PSK31 (and packet, to the degree that it still exists).

Thumbnail description of my gear.

HT:  Baofeng UV-5R 2m/440cm.  An astounding radio for $50, shipped (eBay).  Get the programming cable and use chirp.

Mobile/Base (ordered but not received yet): Kenwood TM-281A 2m, Rigblaster Nomic, N9TAX portable slimjim ant.

I wanted to get a used 2m rig but prices are ludicrously near to new for units in known-good condition.  Will post reviews of the gear as I get more experience.

Leave a Reply

